how I spent my first day of spring

20 Mar

Thanks, first of all, to everyone who commented on my last post about tattoos. You all are amazingly smart people with really great things to say. I was really interested to hear your opinions about and experience with tattoos, tattooed educators (at all levels), and the emotional connection you have to marking the stages of your life (be that in ink or otherwise). I’m super delighted to have such amazing readers who not only read my blabbering, but share these little pieces of themselves with me.

And anyhow, here’s how I spent my first day of spring:

Better pictures to come, but suffice it to say: I am in love with my new piece of art and I can’t wait to watch it grow on and with and through me.

(p.s. People in Eugene, OR: I really recommend the artist Splat at High Priestess. Not only is he just a super delightful person, but he’s an amazing artist with a super light touch. I barely even felt this thing!)

5 Responses to “how I spent my first day of spring”

  1. Lauren (@rainytaylor) March 23, 2012 at 8:57 am #

    HOORAH!

    How long did that one take?

    • martinalynne March 23, 2012 at 9:02 am #

      Hoorah indeed! I’d say that, from the time needle hit skin, it was maybe 25 minutes. It’s such fine line work that there really wasn’t anything that would take long.

  2. Patty H March 21, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    I love that this is in readable font. I get annoyed when script tattoos are in such a flowy cursive that I have to be super obvious about trying to read it.

    • martinalynne March 21, 2012 at 9:12 am #

      Thanks! That was a big factor for me in picking the font.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sunday afternoon thought break: tattooed professors « the life academic - March 21, 2012

    […] (and aren’t a subscriber to the blog) and are wondering “did she do it?”, then check out this follow-up post to see the low-quality picture of my beautiful new tattoo! Share […]

Leave a comment